Spring Gathering 2016

Stacey Waite

On Friday, May 6th, the Nebraska Writing Project gathered together TCs from all over the state to celebrate the State of NeWP. Stacey Waite, acting director, opened up the ceremony by declaring the state of NeWP to be strong, and jokingly pointing out that she didn’t manage to “sink any of the Nebraska Writing Project ships” during Robert Brooke’s sabbatical.

Her good humor was followed by entertainment provided by high school slam poets who competed in Louder than a Bomb this year and also represent members of the Young Writers Camp. They were Jack Buchanan from Lincoln High School, Ashley Marco from Waverly High School, and Tiara Crites and Rose Gaffner from Lincoln Southwest.

After the Slam Poets wowed the audience with their rhythmic riffs, the military veterans of the Lincoln Warrior Writers group shared three of their pieces.

Finally, after a break, Stacey continued the program by presenting Paula Baker from Pyrtle Elementary with the NeWP Administrator of the Year Award of Recognition for her commitment to writing education in her district.

Paula Baker
Paula Baker

The final award of the evening was the Carol MacDaniels Teacher of the Year Award which Dr. Robert Brooke presented to Jeff Grinvalds of Westside High School.

Jeff Grinvalds and Robert Brooke
Jeff Grinvalds and Robert Brooke

Finally, here is a gallery of some other images from the evening. Hopefully, we’ll see all of you at the Spring Gathering in 2017! Two quilts were raffled off at the end of the night!



Related News

Leave a Reply